Driving Without Insurance in Maryland
In times of economic distress, driving offenses related to financial hardship proliferate, often placing further strain on economically distressed motorists. Insurance industry data indicates that in 2010, one in six drivers in the US allowed their motor vehicle insurance to lapse for at least part of the year. Loss of driving privileges that can result from driving without insurance in Maryland can impede many aspects of an individual’s life, most notably interfering with the ability to drive to and from work- further exacerbating situations of financial hardship.
Penalties for Driving in Maryland without Insurance
If you have experienced an insurance lapse in Maryland, it is not necessary to be caught driving to begin incurring penalties. There are automatic fines associated with car insurance lapses in Maryland. Even if you were unaware your car insurance coverage had terminated, you are liable for fines of $150 for the first 30 days your car lacked insurance, and an addition $7 each day your vehicle remains uninsured.
Driving without insurance is also a jailable offense in the state of Maryland, meaning that if found guilty of driving without insurance, you can be sentenced to jail time. In addition to up to a year in jail, a conviction for driving without insurance in Maryland carries heavy fines- $1,000 and the aforementioned prison time for a first offense, and $2,000 in fines and up to two years in jail for a second offense. Conviction also carries five points on your license, a penalty that can cause insurance rates to spike significantly in the long term.
The penalties associated with driving without insurance in Maryland are as follows:
- • Loss of plates
- • Loss of vehicle registration privileges
- • Uninsured motorist penalty fees up to $2,500 per year
- • A restoration fee of up to $25 for vehicle registration
- • Inability to register any vehicles until obligations are met
- • Confiscation of plates by an authorized tag recovery agent after registration is suspended
- • Fine of up to $1,000 and up to a year in jail if convicted
Minimizing the impact of a charge of driving without insurance in Maryland
However, a charge of driving without insurance in Maryland does not have to be a catastrophic experience. An experienced Maryland traffic lawyer is familiar with the havoc even seemingly minor traffic charges can inflict personally, professionally, and financially. An attorney experienced in Maryland traffic violations can assist you in navigating the legal system, working to protect your driving privileges and minimize the impact of such charges on your life. If you have been charged with driving without insurance in Maryland, contact the Law Office of Edward Tayter for a free consultation.
Mr. Tayter represents clients across the state of Maryland, so if you are in need of a Prince George’s County DUI lawyer or a Columbia DUI lawyer, please contact us to find more information on the services we can provide.